Rose buttercream truffles

I had quite a bit of turkish delight buttercream left over from my chocolate cupcakes, I didn’t want to make more cakes and I didn’t want to throw it away.

Experiment time!!! My little mind drifted to those strawberry cremes in the Quality Street tin. I don’t really like them and they’re always the ones left at the bottom of the tin but that’s by the by.

I piped out little gems onto parchment paper and popped them into the freezer. I had already made another batch of sugared rose petals which needed a bit longer to dry thanks to the humid weather we’ve been having. Whilst the gems were setting up in the freezer I melted some plain chocolate in a glass bowl over a saucepan of simmering water.

20160907_123106

20160907_123110

20160907_123125

I let the chocolate cool a little, but not enough! The frozen buttercream was melting as soon as I touched it to pick one up. I shouldn’t have been surprised considering the fact they’re mostly butter but hey. I envisioned the chocolate lightly coating them and them holding their shape, but I ended up with blobs. Cue the rose petals!

20160907_140533

I stuck them on and got those truffles in the freezer asap before the entire kitchen was engulfed in a pink, buttery chocolate mess.

20160907_140247

They’re now in the fridge in their own paper cases. I’m not sure I’m brave enough to let them out into room temperature! Obviously I had to give one a taste test. One is enough people. The rose and plain chocolate combo is a good one but oh my golly sweet sweet sweet!

 

 

Leave a Reply

