Coco-nuts Banana Bread

A while ago, in an attempt to have my cake and eat it too, I purchased some coconut flour. Using some Internet guidance (you need much less than regular flour as the coconut flour is really absorbant) I altered my regular vanilla cake recipe to make coconut cupcakes.

My god, what an epic failure. It was like sinking my teeth into an  coconutty eggy silica gel packet. Honestly struggling to get a mouthful chewed and swallowed my gurning could have been a stand in for Mister Ed.

So, in the spirit of not wasting food I decided to give it another go, this time googling real recipes from someone who actually knows what they’re doing. I found two recipes but as one called for three ripe bananas and I had exactly three bananas dying a death in the fruit bowl I chose to do that one first.

20160818_141747

I used the coconut flour banana bread recipe from http://www.thecoconutmama.com

So I had regular supermarket own brand honey rather than raw, and had I not had a tub of coconut oil languishing in the back of the fridge I would have used butter,  but otherwise I stuck to the recipe! Go me!

20160818_195230

I also made a sweet coconut ‘nice cream’ to top it with, whipping single cream, maple syrup and shredded coconut and popping it in the freezer for a bit…Only because I didn’t have double or whipping cream which would have stiffened much better!

Considering I am a full-fat, rot-your-teeth sugar kinda girl, this is good! It’s a slightly different texture to my regular cakes (it’s very ‘moist’. There i said it.) but to eat it you’d never know that it’s actually not that bad for you.

Leave a Reply

