Orange and lemon turkish delight

We’re going to see my grandma  (Mama) to celebrate her birthday tomorrow, and as I know she’s partial to a turkish delight I thought I’d give it a go.

http://www.goodtoknow.co.uk/recipes/294150/Rose-Turkish-Delight

I used the above recipe as a guideline. As always this is a kitchen cupboard special. I halved the recipe because I only had 4 leaves of gelatine, (she only eats like a little bird anyway so it worked out well) it’s citrus flavoured rather than rose because I had natural lemon flavouring, one lemon and half an orange.

It was actually very simple. Soften the gelatine in water, then put on a medium heat with the sugar and stir until dissolved. I added in the zest of the lemon and 1/2 orange and brought it to the boil. I then turned the heat right down, squeezed in a little lemon and orange juice plus 3 drops of lemon flavouring and let it simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally.

I lined a small cake tin with cling film and poured in the syrup then left it to do it’s thing overnight in the fridge.

20160731_180824.jpg

I dusted a plate with a mix of cornflour and icing sugar and gently flipped the jelly out of the tin. I’m not sure if it was the cling film sticking to the jelly or vice versa but they had become best friends and were not letting go. This is the stickiest substance ever. I was about to give up but finally managed to convince it to let go, peeling it bit by bit. Once i’d flipped it and two sides were dusted things got so much easier!

I used a sharp, wet knife to cut it into pieces and oh my how satisfying this was. It was SO therapeutic cutting the clean lines then dabbing the sticky edges into the sugar mixture. If you are the owner of an exceptionally sticky kid I would thoroughly recommend rolling them in this powder. If it can un-stick this turkish delight it can un-stick anything!

20160801_120532-1

So purty!  I’ve transferred it to a tupperware in layers separated with parchment paper for easier transportation.

 

2 thoughts on “Orange and lemon turkish delight

    • lazymrsb says:

      Thankyou it did! For some reason I never realised until I made it that it’s actually just posh jelly you can eat with your fingers!

      Like

Leave a Reply

