Banana bread and torture sauce

It’s just over a week until we head down to Cornwall to visit my dad and stepmum so I’ve decided to embark on an emergency Atkins diet to try and avoid being harpooned on the beach.

Because I’m some sort of unbalanced masochist, I also decided to make banana bread with some squidgy narnas that were hanging around. The same day. What is wrong with me?!

Because I can’t eat any of it, it naturally turned out to be the most glorious thing I’ve ever made. FML.

20160727_160135-1.jpg

I searched for a recipe using oil because I wanted to make a toffee sauce and only had enough butter for one or the other. Food.com came up with the winner.

3 ripe bananas, mashed

2 eggs

1 3/4 cups flour

1 1/2 cups sugar (I only used 1 cup)

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/4 cup milk

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp vanilla

Blend everything but the flour and baking soda. Once mixed add them in and blend until smooth. Pour into loaf tin and bake at 180° for about 1 hour.

For the sauce I melted 1/2 cup Butter with 1/2 cup Sugar. You’re supposed to keep going until it darkens but it didn’t seem to be doing anything and I was scared it would seize up so I added a squeeze of golden syrup, 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract and 1/2 cup of cream. It bubbles a bit but keep stirring! I got the whisk in there and seemed to be at it for AGES but it eventually thickened a bit. Once cooled it is thicker. A tiny quality control test confirmed that this stuff is freaking delicious. Not sure if it’s toffee or caramel, it even tastes a bit fudgy.  Let’s face it, it’s butter and sugar, it tastes amazing.

20160727_213237.jpg

Hubby was very happy with this offering. I warmed a square back up, added a scoop of vanilla ice cream and a drizzle of the sauce. I had an Atkins endulge bar. Bastard.

One thought on “Banana bread and torture sauce

Leave a Reply

