Granola mallow crispies

I had some leftover ingredients  (I know! What are leftovers!?) From my granola cake and my weird sandwiches experiment so I thought I’d whip up a version of crispie treats. This is the easiest thing in the world. I did check a recipe for quantities because I’ve not made them for years and years.

I used my old pal Allrecipes.co.uk and it called for :

200g white marshmallows (I had 150g of white and pink)

50g butter

150g rice crispies (I had granola!)

Melt the butter, add marshmallows and stir until melted and mixed in. Take off the heat and mix in cereal. Press into lined tin/tray.  This recipe reckons it serves 24. LOL.

Anyway, I’m not here to pretend I’m now chef supremo. If something turns to shit I’ll be honest and tell you. That’s what we’re all about here. It wasn’t BAD, it just wasn’t great. The pink mallow mixed with melted bits of chocolate from the granola turned them a bit of a weird colour, and the granola I had bought was Special K. Diet food. It just didn’t have the oomph I want from a sweet treat….maybe some extra melted chocolate drizzled over would have given it a bit of a boost. But this is me. Leftover chocolate just isn’t a thing. Even if I feel sick I just keep shovelling it in until it’s gone and I feel like I’m gonna die. I don’t know what my problem is.

20160713_175216

I’ve told you it wasn’t that great. But of course we ate them anyway because we have no self control. Lesson learned? Don’t mess with the classics. And I’ve still not used up all of that damn granola. 

 

Leave a Reply

