This cake is basically a salad

Hands up who actually thought I would use those boobie courgettes for something healthy / sensible? Come in and know me better man!

After baby swim on Tuesday we went to Lacock village, the home of Lacock Abbey more widely known as Hogwarts, and pretty much every period drama ever made! We were asked by a few tourists the way to ‘Harry ‘ s house’ but were unable to help. ๐Ÿ™‚

There’s homemade goodies on almost every garden wall with an honesty box nearby. We picked up some coconut ice and some fudge to take home.

20160712_151742

Why does tooth decay have to look so beautiful?

Just as we were leaving we spotted a wheelbarrow full of round yellow courgettes. Mum picked up two and dreamed up some horribly healthy stuffed baked veggie concoction. I saw them and thought ‘CAKE’.

20160712_134912

 

20160712_134858

Rigorous selection process

20160712_134852

A bit of QC. There was a couple of little teeth marks so I had to buy that one!

I used a recipe from allrecipes.co.uk for a lemon courgette cake, and hummingbird bakery’s cream cheese frosting.

I doubled the original recipe to use one whole courgette.

400g grated courgette

300g caster sugar

2 eggs

250ml veg oil

400g plain flour

1 tsp salt

1 tsp bicarbonate of soda ( I didn’t have any)

1/2 tsp baking powder

2 tsp ground cinnamon

4 tsp lemon zest ( I had one lemon so did all its zest)

Beat courgette, sugar, egg, oil, lemon zest. Combine all dry ingredients in separate bowl. Original recipe says to sift…HA! Combine the two and pour into cake tin. Mine’s a 9 inch round tin. LINED! ๐Ÿ™‚

Oven at 160ยฐ it did take about an hour… maybe I should have done 2 smaller ones!

For the frosting whip 300g icing sugar, 50g soft unsalted butter and 125g cold cream cheese. I added 2 tsp of lemon curd also.

I got all fancy with the icing, piping bag in hand, swirly patterns, then I did what I always do and got over excited and completely ballsed it up when I found a packet of sugar pearls in the cupboard. Oh well. Nothing makes it look homemade like some shit decorations. I also decided to ice the sides of the cake after I’d eaten a good amount of the ‘spare’ icing so only half the cake had iced sides. D’oh.

This cake is DENSE. Not stoopid, just heavy. Maybe it needed baking longer, maybe that bicarb is in the recipe for a reason, who knows. But it tasted good and I like a cake with a bit of weight to it. In my mind if a cake is ‘not too sweet’ or ‘lovely and light’, it’s FAILED. I want to know I’ve eaten that cake. I want a cannon ball in my stomach and a sheen on my teeth.

A solid offering. It may not win any contests but I like it and hubby liked it. I’ll see what mum says later about my superior use of vegetables.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “This cake is basically a salad

Leave a Reply

