WHO craves Kedgeree anyway?!

A few weekends ago we decided to try and act like a normal little family and go to the local park for Armed Forces day. We had a wander around,  and then went for something to eat. They had kedgeree on the menu  and I surprised myself by really wanting it, but it wasn’t available at the time. Sad face.

So I decided to make my own! Or at least a version of it. Here’s what I used:

20160711_142730

Microwave rice! Yay!

 

This isn’t a traditional version as it was a ‘what’s in the cupboard’ creation. The fish is smoked haddock and I whacked in a bag of baby spinach.

So. I chopped up 3 rashers of bacon and fried them off in a big pan. Added the spinach and let it cook down. Whilst the microwave was working it’s magic on the rice I dissolved 1/2 a stock cube in about 200ml of boiling water and added 1 tsp each of garam masala and tandoori powder. Put this in pan plus rice and allow rice to absorb the liquid. I’d pre cooked the fish then flaked into pan. I’d also pre boiled and quartered the eggs.

Hubby came home and screwed his nose up when he smelt the fish, which I told him was very f**king rude. He finished his bowl before I did though didn’t he!

20160711_202605

Looks alright doesn’t it!? Not bad for you either.

Leave a Reply

