Spicy potato wedges

The girls came over last night for some drinks. I had a baby to get up to in the morning, one had work, one turns into a hot mess if she drinks without eating etc… so I wanted to make something to soak up the beers, wine and prosecco.

Sometimes being lazy is really hard work. I couldn’t be arsed to go to the supermarket and buy snacks so I raided the cupboards.

I had some jacket potatoes that were threatening to grow arms and legs and run away so I figured I’d give wedges a try. So glad I did, they were the BOMB if I do say so myself.

20160708_125833

Fancypants wedges and dip

 

I found a recipe on BBC Good food website for wedges and a dip. I altered the recipe slightly,  not because I though I could do it better but because a) I only had yellow mustard not dijon and b) I am apparently incapable of reading even the simplest of instructions!

I used 5 jacket potatoes, each cut into 8 wedges and boiled them in salted water for about 5-7 mins (as always, timings are estimates as the baby loves to poop when I’m in the middle of cooking something!

I dried the wedges off on a piece of kitchen towel and then tossed them in a big bowl with 25g of melted butter with tandoori powder mixed in. Lay out on a baking tray and let them have at least 1/2 hour in the oven at 180°.

20160708_130112

Look at that little crispy bit. LOOK AT IT.

The dip is so basic- and yet I failed to follow the recipe properly!  1 tbsp dijon mustard ( I used yellow ) with 5 tbsp mayo and 1 tsp clear honey (I used 1 tbsp because I can’t read) but it was SO GOOD!  I don’t like mustard but I could have spooned this right into my mouth. I’m also a big sissy with spice, but a mild tandoori spice gives nice flavour without melting your face off. Use jerk seasoning with a bit of chilli powder if you want it hawt.

2016-07-08 16.19.55

A wee sprinkle of paprika makes it look a little less baby poopy

We demolished these pretty quickly. I saved a few with a bit of the dip for hubby because I knew he’d moan if I didn’t. He rolled in at 3.30am and only ate one before passing out on the sofa. Rude!

Leave a Reply

