ChocoMallow Granola Cake

Our friends are in a band and are playing at a music festival tomorrow, so hubby as chief groupie is out for the evening. That means I’m home on baby duty, so the band wags are coming over for a few drinks. I made them a cake because I love them but also because they’re all skinny bitches so if I get them fatter I don’t have to lose so much weight! 🙂

The basic cake recipe I used is the BEST. I found it online (can’t remember where, thanks if it’s yours!) And you can dump all the ingredients in without any faffing and there’s very little washing up!

20160707_114241

Less washing, more eating!

The recipe was enough for two cakes, the second of which I’ll post about later.

Flour 225g

Baking powder 2 tsp

Eggs 4

Butter 225g (softened )

Caster sugar 225g

Vanilla extract 6 drops

Milk 2 tsp

Blitz butter and sugar, then add the other ingredients. You can alternate wet & dry, but I just chucked in all the wet, blended a bit, followed by the dry and mixed ’til smooth!

LINE YO’ BAKING TRAYS!

For the topping I used granola with chocolate bits ( I had the Special K version, but I think a full fat version would be better!) Mini marshmallows and giant white chocolate buttons.

I baked at 180° for about 30 mins. I don’t know exactly,  the baby distracted me with gross things, so I just poked it to check it was done.

Despite my best efforts it’s not actually TOO sweet, and the granola stayed nice and crunchy.

20160707_144041

Mmmmmmm crispy marshmallowy bits

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

