Easy cheesy tomato sauce

20160702_170135

First make a simple roux…. WHAT?! My first time making a real sauce with a base without using a packet! It was easy! I was about two spoonfuls in when the baby looked me dead in the eye, braced himself on his jumperoo and delivered a payload. Honestly this was my main inspiration for adding tomato paste to he recipe to make the colour a little less, um, yellow…. I can’t cook but I am a pro at putting people off their food. I guess the baby is following in my footsteps!

My husband is a monster and doesn’t like cheese, so this recipe works for one piggish portion but could easily stretch to two. Add to pasta, vegetables, fries, nachos, anything your nasty cheesy little heart desires!

Dump all dry ingredients together into a bowl

1 1/2 tbsp flour

Pinch cayenne

1/4 tsp garlic salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp paprika

1 1/2 tbsp vegetable oil  (or melted butter)

1/2 cup milk (or cream if you want to really eat the whole thing then hate yourself later. Use skimmed milk if you want it to be a little better for you. Hardly makes a difference )

1/2 cup grated cheese (1/2 fat cheese works too)

1 tbsp tomato paste concentrate

1 slice ‘fake’ cheese. If you’re a revolting child like me who likes their mac ‘n cheese day glo orange like me, along with the paprika and tomato a cheeky American slice will give it a hint of colour.

Add flour mix to warmed oil or butter in a saucepan (sosspun as my brother in law says!) & whisk to form the Roux. Add milk & bring to the boil, whisking continuously. It will thicken fast! When it does reduce the heat & add cheese. Whisk until melted. Add tomato paste & stir. Mix straight into hot pasta or put in a pot to cool for a sexy little dip.

 

20160702_165605La Roux

 

 

20160702_170006

Saucy!

Leave a Reply

